User roles

Overview

Devo users are assigned roles that determine their access to functionality and vertical applications. There are two default roles but you can create new roles for your domain as needed in order to meet specific requirements.

Users may be assigned more than a single role to give them access to additional functionalities according to their needs. For example, a user with the No Privileges role, who has not access to the Panels area, can be complemented with a Custom role that allows him to create and edit panels.

The following table describes the default roles in Devo:

Role Description Icon

Admin

Admin users have access to all application functionality, including the management of system, domain, and user settings. There can be multiple Admin users in any domain. Admin users cannot have additional roles assigned.

The user who created the domain is a special Admin user called Owner. There is only one Owner in a domain and their privileges cannot be revoked by any other domain user. To transfer the Owner role to a different Admin user in the domain, go to Administration → Users, click the ellipsis icon of the required user and select Set as Owner.

No Privileges

Users with the No Privileges role have more limited access to application features and functionality. No Privileges users do not have access to the following areas of the web application:

  • Panels
  • Data Upload
  • Administration

No Privileges users can modify their own user settings but cannot modify other user or domain settings. They can be configured to receive alerts but they do not have the ability to create them. No Privileges users can have one or more custom roles assigned in order to grant them additional privileges.

In addition to the default roles, you can create custom roles to meet the specific needs of their domain's users. 

Role Description Icon

Custom role

Create custom roles to meet your organization's needs. When you create a custom role, you cherry-pick only the permissions that those users require to carry out their work. You can create as many custom roles as you need. A single user can be assigned with multiple custom roles.

For more information, see Create a custom role.

Users can have access to different domains and possess different roles in each domain.

Your current role is indicated by an icon that appears with your username in the navigation panel.

Managing roles

Users with the necessary permissions can manage their domain's roles in Administration → Roles. The existing roles are listed in the lateral tabs. Select a role to view or edit their permissions, finders, and applications in the Permissions and Applications tabs.

To enable a permission for the role, select it from the Available box and use the arrow to move it to the Selected box. Depending on the type of role you are working with, there may be some limitations.

  • Admin - This role has all application permissions. You cannot change this. You can, however, grant the Admin role access to different vertical applications.
  • No Privileges - This role has limited but fixed application permissions. You cannot change them. You can, however, grant the No Privileges role access to different vertical applications, and assign them a custom finder.
  • Custom role - You can enable nearly any of the permissions that you choose. If these include the View finders permission, you will be able to assign a custom finder to the role. You can also grant the role access to any vertical applications necessary.

It can be useful to clone an existing role to use a the base for a new role. To close a role, select it from the lateral tabs and click the Clone Role icon. Click the Delete icon to delete the selected role. 

Have we answered your question?

If not, please contact our technical support team via email by clicking the button below.

CONTACT US