Managing triggered alerts
Use the Alerts Dashboard, in the Alerts area of the Devo web app to monitor the history of all alerts triggered in the domain and manage the actions taken in response to them.
About the Alerts Dashboard
The Alerts Dashboard is your control panel for tracking the alerts that have been triggered over time. There are two parts of the dashboard:
- In the Alerts Overview area, you can use a combination of filters and dynamic charts to visually analyze the overall quantity of alerts over a period of time.
- The Alerts History area lists all triggered alerts starting with the most recent and gives you the ability to carry out workflows related to managing the conditions that trigger the alerts.
The Alerts Overview area lets you choose from among four types of charts to visualize the recent history of triggered alerts. By selecting a time period in the filter bar, you can limit the history from a brief as the last one hour or up to an entire year. You can also use the Show All and Show Open buttons to view all alerts or only the ones that have not yet been marked as closed.
You can customize how this area appears by default in your user preferences. Go to Preferences, then click the Alerts tab on the left inside the User Preferences tab.
The Alerts History area lists the recently triggered alerts and lets you manage the actions taken in response.
By default, alerts are listed starting with the most recent. To draw your attention to the alerts you haven't yet seen in the history list, a "New" tag is displayed in the status column. If you are looking for a specific alert in the list, you can filter the list by clicking values in the Status, Alert, Category, or Priority columns.
The Status column indicates to what extent a triggered alert has been acknowledged. There are three possible values:
- Unread means that the alert has been seen in the list but its details have not yet been viewed.
- Watched means that the alert's details have been viewed by some user; either by expanding the Detailed Information or using the ellipsis menu option.
- Closed is when a user has determined that the alert no longer requires attention or action. Indicate if you want closed alerts to appear in the Alert History in your user preferences.
The drop-down control in the Summary column can be used to expand the row to display the full alert message. Alternatively, use the ellipsis menu and choose View alert details to open a window that displays all the alert details.
Using an alert's ellipsis menu, you can also access the following options:
|Go to query||See the events that made the alert trigger. You will be taken to the query window, and you will see the alert query with the time range where the events that triggered the alert are.|
|Create annotation||Use comments to track actions taken to address the alert condition. Learn more in Add a comment to a triggered alert.|
|New filter||Create filters that automatically process alerts when they're triggered with the characteristics you set forth. Learn more in Apply a filter for post-processing.|
|Mark as closed||Mark the alert as Closed when the issue has been acknowledged and no longer requires attention.|
|Delete||Delete the alert in the case that it was deemed to be triggered in error. When a triggered alert is deleted, it will no longer appear in the alerts history list.|