Relay status workflow
Devo Relay contains a mechanism that keeps the relay status in sync between the relay machine and the Devo application. The relay status can be checked both from the Devo app and from the relay machine using the CLI command.
Devo Relay can be in any of the following statuses. Also, check the corresponding status shown in the Devo application relay list for any of the possible statuses. After accessing the Devo app, Admin users can check the relay list of the domain in Administration → Relays.
|Status||Description||Status in Devo|
The setup process is completed but the validation from the web app is still pending. Learn how to set up a new relay and validate it on the app in Set up your relay.
Click the Activate button
The system is applying changes to the relay configuration. New relays will keep this status for a few minutes after being activated on the Devo app.
The relay is active and working correctly.
There are errors after sending data to Devo.
The certificate of the relay has been revoked. In the Devo app, you can do this in Administration → Relays, by clicking the ellipsis menu in a relay row and selecting Deactivate.
The relay process is stopped.
The relay is deleted and will no longer appear on the Devo app relay list.
The following diagram summarizes the relay status workflow and the actions required to move through the different statuses:
Automatic processes that affect the relay status
Some of the processes that affect the relay status are the following:
The Config updater process checks every 2 minutes if the relay config has been updated in the Devo application. In case it has, it downloads the new configuration to the relay machine and applies the changes. The relay status will change accordingly.
The health-checker thread will move the relay from status Active and Error. This thread is running every 1 minute and it sends data to the table
syslog.relay.monitor and tries to retrieve it using the Query API. After 3 failed attempts, the relay status will be moved to Error. It will go back to Active after the first successful attempt.