Private and shared lookups
When you create lookups, they are classified as private so only you (the owner) and users with User Resources permission can see them in the Lookup Management area. To make them public, you need to share them first with at least one role, as explained below.
Once they are shared for the first time, lookups will be classified as shared, meaning that at least one role has access to them in the Lookup Management area to perform the actions allowed by the scope of action assigned when shared.
They will also appear inside the Lookups tab of the Roles Management area, where a role manager can assign them to other roles. Check the Assign resources to a role article to know more.
Be aware that this process is reversible by removing all roles assigned, which will make the lookups private again.
Who can share lookups and with whom?
User resources permission
If you have this permission, you can see and manage all resources in the domain without previously getting them shared or assigned.
Whether you are the owner of the lookup, a user who got edit access to it, or a user with User Resources permission, the roles you see as options to share depend on your permissions as well as theirs.
Remember that being the creator of a lookup or receiving edit access to it implies having the Lookups (Manage) or Query lookups (Manage) permissions. Having only the view version would make it impossible for you to create them or get edit access to them, and thus impossible for you to share them.
You can share with:
Type of lookup
Scope of access
Roles assigned to yourself
Query lookups (Manage)
Roles assigned to yourself
All roles in the domain
Permissions and sharing
Be aware that having a role with the manage version of the lookup permissions does not forcibly grant you Edit access when a lookup is shared with you. It only means that you can have it, not that you will have it.
In other words, your permissions dictate the scope of access you can potentially receive but it is the user sharing the lookup who will determine your degree of implication in that specific lookup.
How can you share lookups?
There are two different methods to share lookups and they are compatible and complementary. This means you can use one or the other at will and still get the same result, which is visible in the interfaces of both methods.
From the Lookup Management area
In this area, you can share lookups using the Share option of the ellipsis menu that appears at the end of the lookup row. This option will be available to you as long as you are the creator of the lookup, you got edit access to it, or have the User Resources permission.
- Click the ellipsis menu at the end of the lookup row and select Share.
- In the Share with window, click the Search field at the top, select the desired roles and click Add roles.
- The selected roles are added to the bottom area with the View checkbox marked but you can also mark the Edit checkbox to increase the scope of action or click the bin icon to get rid of them.
- Click Apply when you finish in order to apply the changes. A notification pops up to let you know the specified roles are now able to see lookup.
If the user does not have management permissions, the Edit checkbox will be grayed out. Notice this is the case of the Lookup viewer role in the short clip.
From the Roles Management area
If you have the required permissions, you can access this area and edit a role to assign it lookups from the Lookups tab, which displays the shared lookups in the domain. There are some particularities to consider:
- This tab will be enabled only if the target role has at least the Lookup (view) permission.
- Even though you see both types of lookups in this tab, query lookups will be grayed out if the target role does not have at least Query lookups (View) permission.
- Similarly, the Manage checkbox will be grayed out if the permission of the target role is the View version.
Check the Assign resources to a role article to know more about the whole process.
Lookups can be shared with specific roles while specifying a scope of interaction to achieve a more granular and efficient use of resources. Check the following video for a demonstration.